mike curato

illustrator, author, graphic designer, cupcake connoisseur

>SQUEEE!<

I have much to be grateful for today. Top of the list is that my dear friend Geraldine (AKA The Everywhereist) just found out that she does not have cancer. I have been hella anxious since she told Dan and me on Saturday that she has a brain tumor (which she named Steve). She had a biopsy this morning, and the doctors are confident that it is benign.

Dan, Mike, Geraldine & Rand pose for our awkward prom photo

Now that the verdict is in, and we can all tell Steve to go to hell, I feel I can fully celebrate some amazing news I received yesterday. As I said in my last post, Brenda was pitching my book dummy at a conference. She was gone for a long weekend, and it felt like an eternity. She just got back yesterday, and let me know that there are several interested publishers!!! She’s been booking meetings for the end of July, so looks like Elly and I are NY bound! This is totally surreal news. It’s something that I’ve wanted for so long, so it doesn’t feel completely believable, but here we are.

…and there was much rejoicing…

Last, but not least, Dan and I finally got to celebrate our 4-year “manniversary.” I was a very bad boyfriend, and was attending the ICON conference in Providence on our actual anniversary. However, today is poignant because I am officially his longest running gig. I’ll spare you the cheesy, vomit-inducing laundry list of reasons why I love Dan. I’ll just say that he’s pretty much my favorite human.

FOUR MORE YEARS! FOUR MORE YEARS!!!

 

Single Post Navigation

19 thoughts on “>SQUEEE!<

  1. Dude, so many good news! Give Geraldine my best. The best to you and Dan as well.

  2. Laura on said:

    Congratulations are in order! And blessings too!
    xox

  3. Laura Clement on said:

    All awesome news! I am so excited for you about your book!!! Sending you great thoughts and energy.

  4. NY bound? NY BOUND? Could it be…maybe…a future move is in order? And, can I just say…I went to have all my Ellys matted and framed today so I think the cosmos is telling us that Elly is going places. Big, huge congratulations. Big, smooshy love….Bethany

  5. Congratz on both your book and the anniversary. Keep ‘em flying!

  6. Congratulations on all fronts, Mike!! And the news about your childrens book being the recipient of love and adoration makes me get all the more excited for our long-ago discussed plans a.k.a. my dream of having you illustrate my childrens book! I have not forgotten — This is GOING to happen. :)

  7. Jen M on said:

    So happy to read all the happy!!!! xoxo

  8. Corinne on said:

    Thanks for the good news about Geraldine and best wishes for your book!

  9. I thought I already commented on this, but my swiss-cheesed brain and my computer illiteracy suggest otherwise.

    Anywho, I love you to pieces and wish you guys all the best, pesonally and professionally. Thank you for being there for me through all my crap. I love you both to pieces, and I will go wherever I need to to visit you and Dan. :) NYC, Australian, France, Narnia, wherever.
    Love you!
    G

  10. Oops. I repeated myself and have a bunch of typos. I blame the meds. But you get the idea.

  11. Happy manny, guys! Congrats on the book too, Mike! Finally, lots and lots of good healing energy and well wishes to Geraldine!

  12. Yay! A book deal!! Congratulations!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

