Illustration Station

Little Dragon

My friends Kay and Nat had their first child this past September. Meet Sage…

THE cutest. I was very honored when Nat commissioned me to create a piece for Sage’s bedroom. It was also a surprise for Kay. 2012 is the year of the dragon, so Nat requested I make a little dragon to celebrate Sage’s birth year. She also wanted a Japanese theme. Of the pieces I’ve already made, Blossoms is Kay’s favorite, so I used that as a jumping point.

Here are some of my early concepts for the character.

Nat and I talked about what she liked, and I created a dragon that pulled each of her favorite attributes from the concept sketches.

Then came the composition studies.

I worked on the drawing, and then delivered several color options.

We both agreed that A was the winner. So, I prepped the file, had it printed and framed, and here is our Little Dragon for little Sage…

I am so happy that this special little person is going to grow up looking at my art. Now let’s all look at the happy family and have a big old AWWWWWW!!!

Standard

5 thoughts on “Little Dragon

  1. Angela says:

    Your amazing…Now maybe you can scetch me a Phoenix for my guys tattoo. I want to give him a tatto for Christmas. And I call him my Phoenix. Cause he always rises from the ashes and come back stronger than ever..

Leave a Reply

