Designland, Illustration Station, Inspiration Island, Mikesville

Christmas List

Season’s greetings to all of my Santas, Elves, and Hanukkah Harries! As you all start scurrying around to procure holiday gifts this year, I thought I would share a little list of my favorite makers of things with you. Why not spend your money on a truly unique gift from talented people instead of buying the newest mind-numbing device at your local capital crazed mega store?

leNebulous Jewels is run my good friend Ruthie. Her pieces are a beautiful combination of shapes and materials, perfect for someone with a modern fashion sensibility. All of her creations are hand assembled.

leNebulous

leNebuous Jewels

Sarah Jane Lapp has some holiday goodies including Christmas cards on her Zazzle site. For the real deal, you can visit her personal site to see what original works are for sale.

SJ

Vain Deer by Sarah Jane Lapp

For more stationery fun, check out Pixel & Post for some cute holiday themed notecards, as well as her adorable prints!

Pixel & Post

Pixel & Post

Keep your loved one (or yourself!) warm and stylish with a handwoven scarf from Pidge Pidge! You should also take advantage of her embroidered pet portrait sale.

Pidge Pidge

Pidge Pidge

For those who like to make a statement with their threads, check out Griot Apparel. Their t-shirts are designed to pay homage to great minds, comment on social issues, and to spark conversation. This portrait of Nina Simone is one of my favorite designs.

Griot Apparel

Griot Apparel

If you like Griot, you should also check out their creative director Julia Cocuzza‘s personal work. She has prints up on Etsy suitable for lovers of music and NYC living.

Manhattan Cityscape (Springtime) by Julia Cocuzza

Manhattan Cityscape (Springtime) by Julia Cocuzza

Cute animals. Robots. Salvaged wood. All of these treasures await you at Mighty Lark. Artist Mike Lewis has original artwork at very affordable prices (which I think he needs to raise), so get it while you can before I convince him to up the ante!

Totem to the Tlingits by Mike lewis at Mighty Lark

Totem to the Tlingits by Mike lewis at Mighty Lark

For those looking for gifts for kids, definitely check out Naoko Stoop. Her precious prints feature her debut children’s book character Red Knit Cap Girl. I think you should buy the book and a piece of art to go with it! Done and done!

My Apple Tree House - Reading - by Naoko Stoop featuring Red Knit Hat Girl

My Apple Tree House – Reading – by Naoko Stoop featuring Red Knit Hat Girl

Another great kids book I’d recommend is I’m Bored written by Michael Ian Black and illustrated by my friend Debbie Ohi. The book is anything but boring. Fun times for everyone!

I'm Bored by Michael Ian Black and Debbie Ohi

I’m Bored by Michael Ian Black and Debbie Ohi

I suppose I should also plug my own Etsy shop, where you can get your very own Elly prints. I also have a few copies left of the first book I illustrated, Mabel McNabb and the Most Boring Day Ever by Amy Jones. I’m only taking orders until this Tuesday (but I might be able to push that out a bit with some convincing).

Happy shopping!

Elly's Sweet Christmas by ME!

Elly’s Sweet Christmas by ME!

Standard

One thought on “Christmas List

Leave a Reply

