Kidlit County

SCBWI Success Story!

Screen shot 2013-01-23 at 12.51.36 PM

A beautiful SCBWI Bulletin Cover by Mike Lowery

Hello dear readers! I forgot to post this for you when it first came out. I was asked to write an article about my “success story” (page 8) for the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators! I am actually heading to New York next week to attend their Winter Conference for the second time. Would you believe it’s been a year since all of this book madness began!? That also means it’s my blog’s first birthday! Yay Bloggie! You did it!

In other news, I am working on artwork for book 1! My days have been filled with running around taking weird reference photos and getting all the initial comps drawn. Excitement he wrote! Also, this weekend I am going to make an appearance at the American Librarian Association‘s Midwinter Meeting, which is conveniently taking place here in Seattle. Brenda is going to take me to see some of the exhibits. I am very excited to share a cupcake with her at Cupcake Royale. In case I haven’t mentioned it before, I created a lot of the pieces from last year’s winning portfolio for a show I had there last December. Many a cupcake from their cafe has “posed” for an Elly drawing. As we all know, cupcakes are what polka-dotted elephants like best.

Standard

One thought on “SCBWI Success Story!

  1. Pingback: The Main Event: The 2013 SCBWI Winter Conference | mike curato

Leave a Reply

