Kidlit County, Little Elliot's Neighborhood

A winning small treasure! (and a few of my own)

Many thanks to all who participated in the Little Elliot BIG HOLIDAY GIVEAWAY! People were asked to share what their favorite small treasure is. Our winner, chosen at random, is Marcilia Loubach Tartaglia of Littleton, Mass. She wrote:

“My favorite small treasure is my childhood stuffed blue bunny I used to carry around everywhere with me. It was a gift from my aunt and when we left Brazil to come to America it was my security blanket through all the chaos that was coming to a new country. Even after many beheadings to remove the stuffing from it so that my grandmother could wash her clean, and re-stitchings, she is still with me til this very day. Hopefully I can pass her on to my own children in the future.”

I was delighted that Marcilia won because this was definitely one of my favorite entries! Marcilia will receive a first edition signed copy of Little Elliot, Big City!

LittleElliot_cover_gift

We had many sweet entries. Here are just a few:

“My favorite small treasure=a leaf my 9yo daughter gave me in preschool. On it is written ‘I am thankful for mommy'” – Jayme Johnson ‏

“A pine needle from the first Christmas tree my husband and I shared.” – Beth Parmer ‏

“My fave small treasure: an angel ornament my dad gave me. Mom always buys our presents. This is the only one he ever bought :)” – TheBumbleGirl/Margie ‏

“My favorite small treasure is a beach stone from the Maine coast that my son Alex found and gave me some years ago. It’s a regular little hunk of basalt (I think) with streaks of quartz (I believe) that form an A. Simple, small, and precious for a number of reasons”
– Wendy Blake

10547180_10204448580767376_7183319611151529880_o

photo credit: Tim & Amie Van Liew

“My favorite small treasure is a 1/4 inch orange scallop seashell found in Newport Oregon on a family vacation when my daughter was only 1.” – Tim & Amie Van Liew

“My favorite small treasure is a paper holder in the shape of a dolphin that sat on my Mother’s desk when she was alive and now sits on my desk.” – Beth Parente

“My favorite small treasure is the tarnished owl ring my daughters gave me in memory of my owl-loving mom” – Janice Halupnick

“My favorite small treasure is a single earring–conservative by today’s standards–that my mother wore to meet her editor when her middle-grade novel sold to the first editor to whom she sent it, 25 years ago. She worried that the earrings might be too flamboyant but ultimately said, “I’m an artist” in an almost convincing way and wore them with almost confidence.” – Audrey Glassman Vernick

photo credit: Cheryl Hardy Phillips

photo credit: Cheryl Hardy Phillips

“My favorite small treasure is a teeny tiny shopping cart. Can’t even remember where I got it. I have had it sooooo long and each time I come across it, it makes me smile.” – Cheryl Hardy Phillips

“my fav small treasure is a recorded frosty the snowman book all 3 of my kids did for me” – Heather Clark

And now, I’d like to share a few of my personal favorite small treasures with you:

This IS A box my friend Beth made me. It has a leaf and a slide of friends from college inside.

This is A box my friend Beth made me. It has a leaf and a slide of friends from college inside.

1487298_10152388490556792_2872677515848668556_n

This is an amazing box a fellow camp counselor made for me. My camp name was Pop Star.

10653641_10152388475101792_2279197704896537269_n

This little guy is a gift from a friend. He makes a cameo in Elliot’s box of treasures in Little Elliot, Big City.

This bar of soap is from the hotel room I stayed in during my one day in Japan.

This bar of soap is from the hotel room I stayed in during my one day in Japan.

10846403_10152388487506792_5670083262578509923_n

This is a bottle cap from when my friend Cathy and I shared a bottle of wine on a hilltop overlooking Florence at the end of our study abroad.

10849840_10152388453131792_2437152863454365064_n

I love this box of incense a friend brought back from Brazil.

10868153_10152388480361792_5575748009082645947_n

Here is a collection of some of the hemp necklaces I used to make in high school and college.

This is my favorite small treasure: a small wooden bird my brother carved for me when he was a wee lad.

This is my favorite small treasure: a small wooden bird my brother carved for me when he was a wee lad.

Standard

4 thoughts on “A winning small treasure! (and a few of my own)

Leave a Reply

