Kidlit County, Little Elliot's Neighborhood, Uncategorized

Little Elliot, Big Window, Take THREE!

Little Elliot has moved back into his cushy window at Books of Wonder! His first stay was last year for the launch of Little Elliot, Big City, and then again for Christmas. Now, he’s back, and he brought a few friends, or I should say, his BIG FAMILY! Come celebrate the release of Little Elliot, Big Family with me this Sunday, October 4, at 18 W 18th St, between 5th and 6th Avenues, from 3-5 PM! There will be a book reading, presentation about how I work, drawing demo, and of course CUPCAKES, along with some cheesy treats! Meanwhile, I thought I’d share the “making of” our Mouse party…

BoW_window

20150920_160502

I am very blessed to have a big family of crafty folks here in NYC. In this pic you can see Katrina, Les, Sigal, Emilie, Isabel, and Dan making mice out of socks and pipe cleaners, while Ruth is patiently trimming mounted print outs of mouse portraits from the book’s endpapers.

I got the idea for these mice from the Queen of All Things Mousey, Maggie Rudy. She pointed me to this tutorial, which I adapted so that they looked more like a Mouse from Little Elliot’s world:

Emilie sewed all of the socks to have pointy noses. I bought white and black socks, dyed some brown socks, and we added spots to some with markers. Then we all prepped the little bits we’d need from pipe cleaners and felt.

Dan cut little holes in the front, and Isabel stuck pipe cleaner arms through them.

Dan cut little holes in the front, and Isabel stuck pipe cleaner arms through them.

Sigal stuffs a brown mouse.

Sigal stuffs a brown mouse.

Katrina draws on a nose while Emilie glues on some ears.

Katrina draws on a nose while Emilie glues on some ears.

assembly line

assembly line

"I can't see!" Last, we used push pins for eyes, and inserted little round pieces of foamcore in the bottoms for a little stability.

“I can’t see!” Last, we used push pins for eyes, and inserted little round pieces of foamcore in the bottoms for a little stability.

Meet Mouse's family!!!

Meet Mouse’s family!!!

After making all of those mice, I had to find all the fun props for their little attic party. Several friends were kind enough to lend some pieces, but most of the fabulous finds came from Kelly Light, who basically lives in a 20th century museum. I searched for fabric to use as a backdrop, and found a lovely polka-dotted blue one. Finally, it was time to install!

My super-agent, Brenda Bowen, helped me install the whole back wall. Photo credit: Wendi Gu

My super-agent, Brenda Bowen, helped me install the whole back wall. Photo credit: Wendi Gu

Installing took the WHOLE day! Here are a few up-close details:

dinnertime!

dinnertime!

Little Elliot is ready to join in!

Little Elliot is ready to join in!

20150929_172550

I wonder what Mousey tunes they are listening to!

20150929_172542

A party with Little Elliot is incomplete without cupcakes!

20150929_172439

These well-traveled mice wouldn’t want to be anywhere else right now!

Tea, anyone?

Tea, anyone?

20150929_172631

I’ll have a cup!

20150929_172624

Order up!

Join us!

Join us!

Hope to see you this Sunday! If you can’t join us, you can always purchase signed copies of both books from Books of Wonder (they ship almost anywhere). Meanwhile, the window will be up until the week of October 20th.

 

Standard

4 thoughts on “Little Elliot, Big Window, Take THREE!

  1. Pingback: Mike Curato: Let’s Get Busy, Episode 195 | All The Wonders

Leave a Reply

