Kidlit County, Little Elliot's Neighborhood

Little Elliot Goes to China!

littleelliot_dolphinLittle Elliot and I just had an amazing trip to China to promote the release of Little Elliot, Big City in Mandarin! My Chinese publisher, Dolphin Media, invited me to Wuhan and Shanghai to meet some new little friends. While there is so much to talk about, I am working on a tight deadline for the fourth book: Little Elliot, Big Country! So, in lieu of writing all about our adventures, here are some selected photos from the trip. You can see more on my Instagram account. Many many thanks to Dolphin Media for an experience of a lifetime! Xie xie!

Little Elliot, Big Tower

A post shared by Mike Curato (@mike_curato) on

Here we are at the ancient Ming Quing market street.

A post shared by Mike Curato (@mike_curato) on

A pic with our gracious hosts

A post shared by Mike Curato (@mike_curato) on

The student on the right made this beautiful scroll for me. It says Little Elliot Big City!

A post shared by Mike Curato (@mike_curato) on

Students work on their own Little Elliot stories.

Wuhan South Lake School

Wuhan South Lake School

Just JK Rowling and me taking up space in a Chinese bookstore.

A post shared by Mike Curato (@mike_curato) on

mmexport1479757927549

Nice turnout at Wenhua Bookstore in Wuhan

A post shared by Mike Curato (@mike_curato) on

New friends at Wenhua Bookstore!

A post shared by Mike Curato (@mike_curato) on

At Dolphin Bookstore, kids wanted to see me draw Elliot taking a bath and playing with Spiderman.

A post shared by Mike Curato (@mike_curato) on

Ni hao from Shanghai!

A post shared by Mike Curato (@mike_curato) on

Channeling Hitchcock at my Chinese book release

A post shared by Mike Curato (@mike_curato) on

signin' some books!

signin’ some books!

We're in China. In case you couldn't guess.

A post shared by Mike Curato (@mike_curato) on

Exploring Tian Zi Fang with my translator, Chloe.

A post shared by Mike Curato (@mike_curato) on

Little Elliot and his great great great great great great great great great grandpa! #familyreunion

A post shared by Mike Curato (@mike_curato) on

Elephant trunks for lunch!

A post shared by Mike Curato (@mike_curato) on

OMG. I can't stand the cuteness.

A post shared by Mike Curato (@mike_curato) on

Shanghai International Children's Book Fair!

A post shared by Mike Curato (@mike_curato) on

Talking about my work at the Shanghai International Children's Book Fair

Talking about my work at the Shanghai International Children’s Book Fair

This little friend requested that I draw her buying Elliot ice cream. I couldn't see how deer-in-headlights she was while posing for this photo! Apologies!

This little friend requested that I draw her buying Elliot ice cream. I couldn’t see how deer-in-headlights she was while posing for this photo! Apologies!

Me with Dolphin CEO Andy and her son Duo Duo

Me with Dolphin CEO Andy and her son Duo Duo

This meal mad me so sad. Because I know I will never find Chinese food THIS GOOD back home.

A post shared by Mike Curato (@mike_curato) on

The Bund

A post shared by Mike Curato (@mike_curato) on

Shanghaiiiiiiiiii!

A post shared by Mike Curato (@mike_curato) on

A post shared by Mike Curato (@mike_curato) on

A post shared by Mike Curato (@mike_curato) on

A post shared by Mike Curato (@mike_curato) on

A post shared by Mike Curato (@mike_curato) on

My editor Nathalie and I celebrating at the close of the Shanghai International Children's Book Fair.

A post shared by Mike Curato (@mike_curato) on

Shang-bye, China!

A post shared by Mike Curato (@mike_curato) on

Standard

Leave a Reply

