Kidlit County

Worm Loves Worm

Dearly beloved, we are gathered here today to celebrate the book release of Worm Loves Worm! To read a full synopsis and starred reviews, visit this page.

Screen Shot 2016-01-05 at 9.04.06 AM

I had the great honor of illustrating this important story written by debut author, J.J. Austrian. This was much more than just another project for me. It came at a poignant time in my life, and in our nation’s history.

We are all a little different. This has been a fact that I’ve been reminded of daily. For most of my life, I doubted that I could ever be married. This wasn’t because I thought that I was incapable of finding true love; it was because the law would have prevented me from doing so. In 2008, I met someone who changed my life. He has given me love, support, laughter, stability, counsel, and much needed hugs.

7744_10151421619261792_110088638_n

My husband’s name is Dan, and this book is dedicated to him. We were married in 2013. We were very fortunate at the time that we lived in Washington state, where marriage had just become legal for all of its citizens. I finished illustrating this book in February of 2015. Four months later, after decades of opposition, the Supreme Court declared that same-sex marriage was now legal throughout the entire country.

Screen Shot 2016-01-05 at 9.59.25 AM

Throughout our lifetimes, each of us will be criticized for something that we cannot change (in other words: for being yourself). During those times, it’s paramount to remember what is most important in your life. For me, love is what is most important. Some people see the love that I have for Dan as being “different.” I beg to differ. In Worm Loves Worm, no matter the opinions and criticisms of others, Worm and Worm hold fast to what is most important to them: each other. You can try playing by the rules as much as you want, but sometimes rules have to change because people are more important than rules. People will love who they love. This is what makes us human. This book is a celebration of love.

WormLovesWorm_spread

I want to thank J.J. Austrian for writing this incredibly beautiful story, Alessandra Balzer for asking me to illustrate it, Martha Rago and Dana Fritts for their guidance and design eyes, and the rest of the Balzer + Bray team. I think we’ve made a really special book, and I’m so proud to be a part of it.

Worm Loves Worm is now available for purchase from these booksellers:

801e09_57e4a72152fb4bc797d1430ff0051e32 801e09_071f50558d47488994db7ac73e4ca300 801e09_829fbd134f494401a2fe94d1ed3ef2f8 801e09_e1e85f8cea5d4d2ca5b75287f5ae150a 801e09_f0198925dee3474faaf93fe70dfa3d29

WormLovesWorm_bees

Standard

16 thoughts on “Worm Loves Worm

  1. I’m a master gardener and practice vermiculture,, so I raise worms. I love them for not only their contribution to our environment, but also just because I think they’re lovely and special. I have enjoyed reading the Little Elliot books and have had Worm loves Worm on pre-order for months. I can’t hardly wait till it arrives in the mail.

  2. Dear Mike, I just bought Worm Loves Worm for my library (I’m a Children’s Librarian), and I can’t tell you how much I loved it. I’ll be putting this in the hands of many children and parents in the years to come. Thank you to you and JJ Austrian for this timely and beautiful addition to the picture book world.

  3. Pingback: Perfect for Valentine’s Day: “Worm Loves Worm”

  4. Pingback: Perfect for Valentine’s Day: “Worm Loves Worm”

  5. Pingback: Perfect for Valentines of All Ages: “Worm Loves Worm”

  6. Pingback: Unwelcomed Love | mike curato

  7. Pingback: THE 2016 NERDIES: FICTION PICTURE BOOK WINNERS ANNOUNCED BY JOHN SCHU | Nerdy Book Club

  8. Pingback: Happy Valentine’s Day! | mike curato

Leave a comment