Kidlit County

If I Were a Fish

I have a new book making a splash today wherever books are sold!!! I was a very lucky so-n-so who got to illustrate a song that went just a little bit viral on social media. If I Were a Fish is the heartfelt and catchy tune written by Corook and Olivia Barton. About eight months ago, Corook was having a very bad day, no thanks to the choppy waters of social media, and Olivia suggested they write a song to feel better. Their little post now has nearly 3 million likes on TikTok.

This is a book about accepting ourselves and each other for who we are, no matter what the meanies online have to say. I think that’s pretty relatable for everyone. Let’s celebrate our differences and revel in our quirks! PLUS, who doesn’t want a fun sing along before bedtime?

I am blessed with many lovable kooky people in my life, several of whom are featured in the illustrations. I want to give a special shout out to my dear friends, Sue, Gwen, Harlow, and Rue, to whom this book is dedicated to. Thanks for keeping me afloat.

I also want to thank my agent, Brenda Bowen, and my team at Feiwel &Friends/Macmillan who invited me to work on this dream project. You should also know that we somehow made this book overnight, a true feat in publishing. I believe from start to finish, I illustrated the whole thing in three weeks. Yes, I’m still tired. But it’s possible when you’re part of a supportive team. High fin everyone!

My publisher presented me with this major award. As an illustrator who is also a pisces, this means a lot.

Okay, here are a few fun Easter eggs floating at sea. If you’re a fan of the song, you’ll know that the kazoo has quite a presence in the music, so naturally I had to draw a “kazoofish” in the illustrations.

There are also a few celebrity cameos. For the last scene in the book, Corook and Olivia wanted a big inclusive crowd of folks all singing together. If you’re going to have a show stopping performance, you need a few drag queens in the mix. Here are two of my faves, BenDeLaCreme and Jinkx Monsoon.

Of course Corook and Olivia are featured in that big crowd. And right above them to the right is Dylan Mulvany, who sang with Corook in a very sweet rendition of If I Were a Fish.

Thank you all for being your wonderful selves. Be kind to yourself. Be kind to each other. And maybe buy our book and sing a very happy song! If you’d like a copy personalized and signed by me, reach out to my friends at High Five Books.

Me with my two favorite fishies ❤
Standard

2 thoughts on “If I Were a Fish

Leave a comment